Capstone Schematics

Over the break I began thinking of what the names of my businesses should be and what the theme of my Daycare should be. After running ideas past different people I finally came up with the theme of my Daycare. My Daycare will be named “Oh The Places We Will Go.” It will be Dr. Seuss themed. Each room will be designed as a different story (Horton Hears a Who, The Lorax, Green Eggs and Ham, Etc.) I haven’t created name for my bookstore or café yet, but I think it would be fun the include the “Tulsa Paper Company” Signage that is currently still on the building. I am still thinking and will hopefully figure it out by the end of the week. I do know that I want the bookstore to resemble a kind of antique bookstore. I want the café to coordinate with that and be a very laid back environment.
This week we have been working on stack plans and schematic plans. My building has a lot of columns in it so it has been a challenge trying to figure out a good layout for the space. The bookstore and Café on the first floor was not as hard to figure out a layout as the Daycare upstairs. There is only one way to enter for all the spaces, so I have to figure out a way to create three different layouts with the reception always in the same spot. After about a week of working on it I finally figured out three layouts that might work.
On Monday I met with Kristen and Blythe. They liked what I had so far, but gave me some ideas of how I could change up a few things. They chose which layouts they liked the best so I know what to move on with. They did not have much more advice for me, only to watch out for where the windows are and try design the space around the windows. I think after Wednesday’s meeting I will have a better feel for the plans and know how to move forward in the design.

“If you dream it, you can do it.” – Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

